OK, so it was meant to be a Fun Run, and honestly I did do quite a lot of running, but @HeatherAlex and @CatCripps insisted on walking, so what could I do???

Anyway, we were doing a sponsored “run” for Motor Neurone Disease Scotland (who tweet as @MNDScotland) along with about 600 other folk and various assorted dogs.

MND Scotland logo

I had my very own small-size T-shirt to wear. It was a bit big to start with, as you can see in the photo, but a safety pin soon sorted that so I didn’t trip over it.

At the start of the "race"

At the start of the "race", where the t-shirt was still a bit on the large side...

We did 4 miles around Strathclyde Country Park, with a short stop halfway round when the folks from MNDS handed us each a water bottle.

Drinking water

Slurp! I needed that...

The park has a nice big loch, which we walked round. I did want to go for a swim, but wasn’t allowed to until nearly the end. Which is probably just as well, because the t-shirt got wet and sandy, and was quite uncomfortable to wear after that. @HeatherAlex did say something like “I told you so”, which I thought was a bit unkind really.

It was the longest walk I have done since my knee problems started, so by the end I was ready for a snooze in the car.

Snoozing in the car

A well-deserved rest after my walk!

Just to prove that I did the whole walk, here’s a photo of me at the finish line, taken by a very nice man from MNDS [Iain McW]:

We finished!

We finished! Note the wet'n'sandy t-shirt look (yuck)...

And here’s me with my Fun Run medal when we got home:

Sporting my medal...

Sporting my medal...

We’ve raised over £200 between us, so a big thank you to all who have supported us. I have to confess that I have not quite made my £100 target so if anyone felt like helping MNDS a wee bit, do feel free to donate at  my JustGiving page!

