Well, well, well, who would have thought it? Mr Darcy is an honourable man after all, and poor Lizzy has had to eat her words. I’ve never tried to eat my barks, but I think for people it must be mighty indigestible fare. A bit like trying to swallow a bone that’s too big for you…

I would have liked to be in the room when Mr Darcy made his intentions known. I think it was funny, the way he was trying to show how much he loved her by saying how much he had had to overcome to admit his love, but all he was doing was irritating Lizzy by being rude about her family. I do like Mr Darcy, I could see him with a few of us dogs running along with him as he’s out riding, but he’s a bit too concerned with position and breeding. Mind you, he did make Lizzy think a bit more about her family, and that was probably no bad thing. I’ve said before that I like Mr Bennet, but he has given up on his marriage and his family responsibilities (after seeing The King’s Speech, @heatheralex tells me the word I need there is “abdicated”), preferring to withdraw to his study.

Overall in the book, I do like it that none of the characters are perfect, even the “good guys”: Mr Darcy is too concerned about status, Lizzy is too quick to form judgements, Jane is too slow to show how she feels.

After all of this, I have come to the conclusion that we dogs are better off, being so much more straightforward than people. What’s more, we tend to sniff out the good ‘uns and the not-so-good ‘uns much more quickly and accurately. I’ve had Mr Wickham pegged since early on, I confess – he was high on my list of people whose ankles needed a good nip.

